Board of Directors

Churches for Middle East Peace (CMEP) is a coalition of 27 national Church communions and organizations, including Catholic, Orthodox, and Protestant traditions. Representatives from each of these bodies are the members of CMEP’s Board of Directors. CMEP’s mission, positions, and policy are set by the board. Decisions are made by consensus of the group.

Current Members of the CMEP Board and their Representatives

Alliance of Baptists
Allison Tanner

American Baptist Churches, USA

Antiochian Orthodox Archdiocese of North America
Fr. Joseph Rahal

Armenian Orthodox Church
Archbishop Vicken Aykazian, CMEP Executive Committee

Catholic Conference of Major Superiors of Men’s Institutes
Tom Southard

Christians for Social Action
Nikki Toyama-Szetzo

Christian Reformed Church
Gary Mulder

Church of the Brethren
Rev. Nate Hosler, Ph.D., CMEP Board Chair, Executive Committee

Church World Service
Martin Shupack

Episcopal Church
Rev. Canon Robert Edmunds

Evangelical Covenant Church
Jeff Anderson

Evangelicals 4 Justice
Dr. Andrea Smith

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America
Dennis Frado, CMEP Executive Committee
ELCA Churchwide Strategy for Engagement in Israel and Palestine
Developments in ELCA Engagement with Israel/Palestine

Franciscan Friars (OFM)
Russ Testa

Friends Committee on National Legislation
Diana Ohlbaum

Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America
Maria Kouroupas, CMEP Executive Committee

Moravian Church in America
Rev. Richard L. Sides

National Council of Churches
Tony Kireopoulos

Presbyterian Church, USA
Catherine Gordon
Policy Positions: Israel/Palestine
PCUSA General Assembly Recap

Reformed Church in America
Josh Vis

Unitarian Universalist Association
Susan Leslie

United Church of Christ and the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
Common Global Ministries Board
Peter Makari, CMEP Executive Committee

United Methodist Church
General Board of Church & Society
Mark Harrison

United Methodist Church
General Board of Global Ministries
David Wildman

United Methodist Church
United Methodist Women
Tatiana Dwyer


American Friends Service Committee 
Michael Merryman-Lotze

Catholic Relief Services
Myron Meche

Maryknoll Office for Global Concern
Susan Gunn

U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops
Lucas Koach